Happy Halloween

Halloween Pumpkin Doodle

Here in Fort Collins, there are a multitude of excuses to get dressed up in costume. Tour De Fat, Fortoberfest, Zombie Crawl, New West Fest, every saturday night, etc. etc. etc. But there is only one true holiday that I think it is valid to wear a costume that does NOT HAVE TO INCLUDE A FLIPPIN’ TUTU! (Fort Collin-ites have this preconceived notion that for any costume, a brightly colored tutu and a wig are de facto costume pieces. They are not. End of story.)

I really like Halloween and I am so happy that I have found someone that enjoys it just as much as I do. But we agree that we both like Halloween because it is one of the most creative holidays there is. And there is candy, lots and lots of candy!

Finn and Princess Bubblegum from Adventure Time. All 100% made from scratch. Except for the dress, the ladyfriend already wears that normally.

But I really like Halloween because it is a day where people can just be free and have fun. Putting on a mask allows a lot of freedom that opens up the potential to let go of your self and your life and become a completely different persona. You can be creepy, Overtly sexy, conservative, anything and there will be no judgement, because people are sharing in the same persona swap.

Not only that on a more spiritual side, it is a chance for you to play with the ghouls and ghosts and spirits of our world. Something that I don’t share too often is that my brother passed away 2 years ago and I still miss him every moment of everyday, but on Halloween and the following few days of “Dia De Los Muertos” I get to feel close to him. The line between the living and the dead becomes muddled and for 72 hours, I get to believe that my brother is here, celebrating with me. So I for one love Halloween. I love dressing up, carving pumpkins, and having a chance to share something spiritual and special with all beings in our world.

Here is a song I enjoy sharing with my brother. It comes from Ryan Gosling’s project Dead Man’s Bones. For those of you that don’t know this band, Dead Man’s Bones was started in 2005 with Gosling and musician Zach Shields. The album was a recording of both men’s fondness for ghost and spirit stories. When the album was recorded, the faults and mistakes were kept in the track recordings to help create the eerie atmosphere and tone that comes with ghoulish recordings. The album was also recorded with the Silverlake Conservatory Children’s Choir.

Ryan Gosling and Zach Shields

One of if not my favorite Halloween album ever. Please take time to enjoy one of my favorite songs “Name in Stone” and enjoy your Halloween!

Leave a Reply

