Friday Morning Coffee Break: Coffee No More?!?!?!?!

Le Sigh,

Aaron’s not too happy I am leaving

It is with a heavy heart that I must announce on this Friday Morning Coffee Break that I have decided to leave my current position at the LittleBird Bakeshop! This has come as a shock to everyone, including myself but it is hopefully the right thing to do. Or at least we keep telling myself that right?

For any that know me, or anyone that wants to get to know me. There is one important thing that you must realize about me. I like coffee. I like it a lot. It’s true. I like it because of all the extrinsic and intrinsic benefits that it provides. Not only is it a pleasant elixir that lets you enjoy a perfect moment in your day, but it is a commonality between strangers that can provide and create community.You see, people can come together in their day at a coffee shop or at our Bakeshop and meet, discuss current events, or just have a silent moment of contemplation.

Made by shaking a lot with caffeine

Everyday when I went to work I was so excited, so motivated because I was able to be a part of that person’s moment. To be able to provide that individual or that group of people with a service to help them realize their true potential or help them live their own “intentional lifestyle.” Especially because I was in the world of craft coffee. I was am in a market that is highly specialized in highlighting the best qualities in the different varietals of beans. It was a place that wanted to pay respect to each hand that had touched that coffee bean. Brewing a good cup of coffee wasn’t about following specific parameters, it was about recognizing that this little shriveled bean that I am pouring water over is not only my livelihood, but the livelihood of a handful of other people and I have to give them my best effort and show off why they work so hard. When looking at coffee this way, each drink I made was special, each drink had it’s own individuality, it’s own flair, and it’s own message to the universe. And of course each person who received this drink had their own needs that this coffee would satisfy.

To work somewhere like LittleBird was one of those dream situations in the service industry. A small staff that works like a family. A boss that is so sincere and so giving and too good for her own good! (Amy you will never know how much you are one of the most important impacts on my life). A community of regulars that respected me as a professional equal and a community of supportive individuals that respect your craft and pursuit of perfection. The mission statement of LittleBird can really be summed up as LOVE. Plain and simple. Love what you do and do what you love. For all of us at the LittleBird that mean’t love the product your are giving, and love the people that you are helping. At the Bakeshop, people there were seen as our extended friend and family. Not as marks, or as potential clients, but as real people. And in turn, we made this a second home to most, including myself.

Little Bird, Big Love.

But I guess somewhere down the road, I started to lose track of that love that was there at the shop. Somehow, I became “rooted” in my path to perfecting coffee instead of being invested in the people around me. In doing so, I started to withdraw from the customers I had come to love and see them as potential blocks into improving my craft and making people see that I am doing something professional and real. I started to bypass my duties and responsibilities at work and pursue those responsiblities that were important to me, not those around me. And in turn, I become a distraction and an impasse to the true potential of Little Bird from growing.

 

…okay, this has gone way too dramatic, even for a moody scene kid…..

Nonetheless, I had failed to live up to myself. Even though I can make coffee like nobodies business, and look damn good doing it, I let the people around me down. I didn’t see coffee for people, I saw it for myself. And in doing so, my peers saw me as the way I didn’t want to…pretentious. Ewwwwww.

Well, to make a long story short I saw the man that I was becoming and I didn’t like it one bit. I wanted to be James. I wanted to be the best I could be, I wanted to be the person that loved coffee for coffee. That wanted to make people’s lives better. And the only way to do that was if I found myself. I need to get out of the place I love and I need to become super philosophical for a few weeks, and find myself to show the people that I love that I am the person they see me as. James.

The staff at Little Bird are nothing short of amazing. I have never been so close to people I work with or in such awe of the abilities that these people bring to the table. These people understand what is meant by a space for love. They appreciate the finer things in life, not because they are hip, pretentious, or anything along those lines, it is because they appreciate the hard work and care that goes into the craft industry. I will never forget that.

Sam and I and our heroes…each other!

To the most amazing staff I have ever worked with I say thank you. Thank you for allowing me to recognize that I have growing to do and being supportive of me doing it. Thank you to making me appreciate the point I am at in my life. And thank you for being the best people I have ever had the fortunate chance of knowing. I hope that you recognize the people in your life that have done this for you. Have brought the best out in you and inspired you to be willing to reach for your dreams. I will always have coffee, and I will always have a passion for craft. But that experience at Little Bird is once in a lifetime. It is the best time I could have ever had in the service industry and I am sad to go. Really Sad, but I know that my next adventure will be great.

 

So instead of being sad, I wanted to leave you with a message of hope. Till we meet again coffee, until we meet again.

“One day, I shall come back. Yes I shall come back. Until then there must be no regrets, no tears, no anxieties. Just go forward in all your beliefs and prove to me that I am not mistaken in mine.” -The Doctor

 

Leave a Reply

