Music For Mondays: Christmas Standards

I’m like a Cat when it comes to Christmas Decorations

If you do or do not already know, I am an Audiophile. That means I love music. I am actually slightly addicted to it. I think that music is our portal into the soul. It connects people and spirits in a way that nothing else can. Maybe it is the harmonics, the unheard notes that aren’t played, whatever it is music is what gets me into a good mood. I really like to use music to create my holiday cheer and spirit. In fact, last night I was listening to some holiday standards, The Charlie Brown Christmas Album by the Vince Guaraldi Trio, Rosemary Clooney’s rendition of “Snow”, or good ‘ol Dean himself singing “White Christmas”.

All great songs, but to get you into the mood of Christmas I wanted to give you my top10 Christmas songs ever:

#1 Otis Redding- Merry Christmas Baby

I love Blues and Soul music. Always have, always will. I believe that it is the second most American style of music behind Jazz. It is rooted in the songs of our forefathers, of the hard working men and women of American spouting their pain for the world to hear. It is magical and ever since I watched Martin Scorcese’s Blues anthology on PBS I have lived in that blue kind of world. Otis Redding has always been a soft spot for me. His song “Merry Christmas Baby” was released in 1967, the same year he died. The song is a beautiful praise of his woman and how much happiness she brought to him this time of season. It warms me up and makes me feel good about my woman and is something that I feel like I can dance to all night long.

#2 Vince Guaraldi Trio- Skating

This is a hard pick. Every song played on this album is good. In fact it was one of the albums that inspired me to play Jazz. I really like Skating the most because the song reminds me of snow falling. Any time it snows and I can sit at the window I like to turn this song on and watch it fall. It is a song that is lighthearted but at the same time slightly ominous. You love the snow and have fun but you still feel that chill running up your legs as the day goes on. I can get lost in my thoughts with this song, a good cup of coffee and the snow falling outside of my window.

#3 SNL Cast (Chris Kattan, Jimmy Fallon, Horatio Sanz, Tracy Morgan)- I Wish it Was Christmas Today

Oh man. Every year the SNL Christmas special is on I sit and wait patiently like a wide-eyed kid on Christmas day for this skit to come on. I wait with anticipation and every skit that isn’t it, I start to cry. But than, just when I don’t think I’ll see it. I see a giggling Horatio Sanz and Jimmy Fallon pop up with Tracy and Chris in matching red sweaters and goofy smirks and they sing the BEST CHRISTMAS SONG EVER! I love it so much. It is childish, simple, catchy, and just pure fun. Exactly what Christmas is supposed to be about. Who cares if it was done by the most unprofessional goofballs on SNL. I love the song and it isn’t Christmas till I get it.

#4 Mountain Goats – Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

#5 Walkmen- Holiday Road

#6 Louis Armstrong – Christmas Night in Harlem 

#7 BB King- Merry Christmas Baby

#8 Vince Guaraldi Trio- Christmas Time is Here (More orchestral than vocal version)

#9 Charles Brown – Please Come Home For Christmas

#10 Bing Crosby – White Christmas (Pry the best holiday movie that I watch with my family)

Excuse me boys and girls, I think that as much as I enjoy sharing my music with you, get out there and listen to some of your own. Or check out my post on the Polyphonic Spree’s Christmas album. Happy Holidays and see you in the New Year.

 

Leave a Reply

